16th December 2019

2019 had Cockpit welcoming 20 new makers this year, with many starting through our Awards and Bursaries, made possible by the generosity of our sponsors and partners.

Among those you may have met during Winter Open Studios are  jeweller Ella Fearon-Low (Cockpit Arts / Newby Trust Craft Excellence Award), wood-turner Arturo Soto, (winner of 2018 Cockpit Arts/UAL Artist/Maker Creative Enterprise Award and 2019 Turners’ Company Award), ceramicist Ula Saniawa (2019 Clear Insurance Award winner) and two 2019 Clothworkers’ Company Awardees, Jacob Monk and Ariane Fourquier.

Constructed-textile artist Richard McVetis joined Cockpit as recipient of the Cockpit Arts / Newby Trust Craft Excellence Awards. Richard was a 2018 finalist of the prestigious LOEWE Craft Prize, established by British fashion designer and LOEWE creative director Jonathan Anderson as the major annual international award for contemporary craft.

Our impressive 2019 list – including weavers, musical instrument makers, leatherworkers, jewellers, a mosaicist and a basket maker – in full:
Alicia Robinson, Alison Dickens, Ariane Fourquier, Arturo Soto, Catherine Mannheim, Ella Fearon-Low, Frances Pinnock, Giulia Manzoni, Hannah Galvin Horne, Hollie Ward, Jacob Monk, Jonathan Hill, Kendall Clarke, Lukas Grewenig, Martina Spetlova, Polly Griffiths, Richard McVetis, Simon Kidd, Ula Saniawa, Yusuf Osman.

And from 1 January 2020, we have more award recipients making Cockpit their home:
2020 Haberdashers’ Award winners, Jo Bee and Bryony Phipps Wardle, along with 2020 Basketmakers’ Awardee Esna Su and Feltmakers’ Award winner, milliner Lily Pouzet to our Holborn studios. Moving in with us at Deptford are Nico Conti on this year’s Ceramic Residency and Haberdashers’ Award winner, Beth Ranson.

top image – woven textiles by Kendall Clarke.