As a Social Enterprise we support talented designer-makers by providing sponsored places at our incubators.

Current Awards

We currently have no Awards available. The next Award round will open in November 2015.


Haberdashers'_Aske's_School_for_Girls_Coat_of_Arms copyThe Cockpit Arts / Haberdashers’ Award 2015

Applications will open in November 2015. Applications are invited for the Cockpit Arts / The Haberdashers’ Awards which aim to assist designer-makers working in knit to set up in business by providing studio space and business support provided by Cockpit Arts. These new Awards are generously supported by The Haberdashers’ Company, with additional support from The Framework Knitters’ Company. The 2014 winners are Carlo Volpi and Claire Anne O’Brien.

If you require any information in the lead up to November, please contact Dana Segal, Development & Events Manager via dana@cockpitarts.com

AwardsChelseaChelsea @ Cockpit Award

Applications will open in November 2015. This award is specifically aimed at BA and MA textile graduates of Chelsea College of Art and Design who graduated in either June 2012 or June 2013 and is part of a commitment by UAL/Chelsea College of Art and Design to assist graduates with their professional career. The Award is receiving additional support from the Wyseliot Charitable Trust. Winners of the 2013 Award were Matt Jacques and Reeve Massey. The winner in 2014 was Petite Albion.

If you require any information in the lead up to November, please contact Dana Segal, Development & Events Manager via dana@cockpitarts.com



Award Schedule

Our Awards programme helps to supports the next creative generation, by providing sponsored places at our creative business incubators. Currently we run three rounds of awards each year. The schedule for 2015/16 is:

Awards Round One

Announced: August 2015
Deadline: October 2015
Start date: January 2016

Awards Round Two

Announced: November 2015
Deadline: February 2016
Start date: April 2016

Awards Round Three

Announced: May 2016
Deadline: July 2016
Start date: September 2016

Please visit the “Apply” page to see the key dates for all other applications.

 Apply for a Studio >

Awards & Benefactors Include

AwardsLeatherThe Cockpit Arts / Leathersellers’ Award

Now closed for entries. These Awards are generously sponsored by The Leathersellers’ Company Charitable Fund. The prestigious Cockpit Arts / Leathersellers’ Awards are intended for talented designer-makers who are seeking business development support to take their creative business to the next level. This year we are able to offer up to six awards. In return for a place at Cockpit Arts, the winners will be required to develop new work where leather is a major constituent. Previous award winners include Laura Amstein (2012) and Benjamin John Hall (2013), Georgina Brett ChinneryBen ElbelBenjamin John HallMaria McLean and Mark Tallowin (2014) and Fflur Owen, Candice Lau and Asdrubal Barreto-Abreu (2015).


AwardsNADFASThe Cockpit Arts / NADFAS Award 2015

Now closed for entries. This annual Award is supported by The National Association of Decorative & Fine Arts Societies (NADFAS) and supports a designer-maker practicing a traditional craft that requires skills at risk of dying out. Since 2012, the Award has been organised in conjunction with the Heritage Crafts Association. Past recipients include Alex Potter (2013), Shaun Grace (2012), Alex Bishop  (2010), Tobye Le Vaillant (2009), Tamasyn Gambell (2008) and Thomas von Nordheim (2007). The 2014 award winner was Sarah Kelly.

Clear Insurance Management LogoThe Cockpit Arts / Clear Insurance Award

   Now closed for entries. Clear Insurance Management continue to show their commitment to supporting creative businesses; having run The Clear Insurance Scheme for Craft Workers & Designer-makers since November 2002. Applications are invited for this Award which specifically aims to support professional designer-makers who have been in business for less than three years and have aspirations to develop their craft business. The 2013/14 Award Winner was Sara Gunn.

 AwardsTurnersThe Cockpit Arts / Worshipful Company of Turners Award

Now closed for entries. This Award supported by the Worshipful Company of Turners aims to help an aspiring or established turner i.e. someone who practices the art and craft of turning on a lathe in wood or other materials. In 2011 a joint Award was made to Eleanor Lakelin and Frank Boggis Rolfe. Winner of the 2012 Award was Chloe Robertson and in 2014 the winner was Matthew Corbishley.


AwardsClothworkersCockpit Arts / The Clothworkers’ Foundation Awards

Now closed for entries. Open to graduates within the last five years, these awards aim to assist weavers to set up in business by providing studio space and business support provided by Cockpit Arts as well as shared use of looms. The selection panel looks for individuals who demonstrate entrepreneurial spirit as well as creative excellence and craft skills. The Awards include space in a shared studio equipped with Leclerc and Louet looms and a number of other benefits. The award winners were Laura Adburgham, Soukaina Aziz El Idrissi, Teresa Georgallis, Catarina RiccabonaNadia-Anne Ricketts and Cassandra Smith (2013), Lisa Bloomer. (2013), Emma Calvert, Calum Clarke, Beatrice Larkin, Aisha I Qazi and Josefin Tissingh (2014) and the 2015 Award Winners are Rowenna Mason and Maria Stavrapoulou.

Also in this section